Polish English French German Spanish Ukrainian


Biuletyn Informacji Publicznej

Norwegian and EEA Funds and the "Local Development" Programme

The EEA Financial Mechanism and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism, or the so-called Norwegian and EEA Funds, is non-refundable financial assistance granted by Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein to more than a dozen countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltic States.

The main purpose of the Norwegian and EEA Funds is to:

  • contributing to the reduction of economic and social disparities within the European Economic Area,
  • strengthening bilateral relations between the benefactor and beneficiary countries.

The coordination of the implementation of the Norwegian and EEA Funds in Poland is the responsibility of the Ministry of Development Funds and Regional Policy (MFiPR), acting as the so-called National Contact Point (NCP) for the Norwegian and EEA Funds.

  More details on EOG 2014-2021 - Ministerstwo Funduszy i Polityki Regionalnej and Dotacje Funduszy Norweskich i EOG as well as on Facebook: Fundusze norweskie i EOG | Facebook



"Local Development" Programme

The objective of the programme, financed by the Norwegian and EEA Funds, is to strengthen social and economic cohesion by improving the quality of the environment, entrepreneurship, the efficiency of public administration and the living standards of all inhabitants, including disadvantaged groups living in medium-sized and small towns.

Programme Operator: Ministry of Development Funds and Regional Policy
Programme Partner: Norwegian Association of Local and Regional Authorities
Partner Organisation: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

The level of co-financing is up to 100% of eligible costs

Stage I of the application process was addressed to 255 small and medium-sized towns qualified by the Strategy for Responsible Development as towns with the most difficult socio-economic situation.
It involved the submission of project outlines, i.e. initial concepts of planned activities and solutions for their development, by the indicated cities in response to a call for proposals and the selection of approximately 50 towns - applicants who will participate in a further competition procedure.

 Stage II of the application process consisted of 2 phases:

More information about the Local Development Programme is available at https://www.eog.gov.pl/ and https://www.eog.gov.pl/strony/zapoznaj-sie-z-funduszami/rozwoj-lokalny/.